Tough Enough To Love

Tough Enough to Love. That’s what is says on my wristband, the one I got on that first Friday.

I can remember myself, sitting in that classroom, after school, surrounded by people who had been in this room every Friday for the entire year. I felt out of place, because I didn’t know most of the people, because I had never been in this group before. But I also felt like I belonged. I knew I belonged in this group of people who were committed to making a difference. I loved knowing that what I was doing would make a change in our world. I still feel that way now.

It woke me up to something bigger than a group of kids eating popcorn in a classroom. It woke me up to a world where people are cruel and do terrible things to others. It woke me up to the fact that we could change things and make things better.

